Jack of All, Master of None

How many of you have ability?  Ability is defined as the quality or state of being able physically and mentally.  It is a competence, natural aptitude, or acquired proficiency.   Ability is both a good thing and a bad thing at the same time.  On one hand it is great to have ability and on the other hand ability can be a hindrance to you reaching your destiny. The ability to do more than one thing well can often cloud your vision of the destiny that awaits you.  Let me explain.

When I was growing up I realized that I had ability in several areas.  I, like many of you reading this, was considered gifted.  At an early age, I was great in the classroom.  I had athletic ability and was a model citizen.  Frank was never the last man standing when teams were being chosen because he was chosen early.  The first year that I played baseball (tee ball) I was the MVP.  As I grew up, I played baseball, basketball, football, soccer, and half rubber (some of you might know what that is).  In school, I got great grades and never studied.  I found out that I could sing and was pretty good at it and even had a dance group that performed for our local gong show at the civic center auditorium.  I had ABILITY.

The same is true of many of you.  You have ABILITY.  You can do ANYTHING!  That’s great for some and sad for others.  Some people can organize their lives to the point that they can access and activate the abilities they have just when they need them.  Others have so many abilities that they don’t know what to do and are overwhelmed and confused.  The fact that you can do anything can cause you to try and do so much that you end up accomplishing nothing.  Don’t let this happen to you.

If you know that you have a destiny and purpose to achieve and you just can’t seem to get there, even when you know that you have the ability to, check your focus.  Maybe, you are unable to focus because you really can do anything.  Remember that you can’t do everything even though you can do anything.  Don’t let your ability turn you into a Jack of All and a Master of None.

The process to follow would be to master 1 thing and then move on to another.  Master the next thing and then move on.  I am not saying that you can’t do all of the things you have the ability to do.  But, the key to arriving at your destiny is to only master those things that are crucial to you getting to where you are going with your life.  The rest are not that important.  That’s a FRANK Thought!  What’s Yours?

That's a FRANK Thought...What's Yours?

